La vieille bourse

“La vieille bourse” of Lille

The Old Stock Exchange of Lille is undoubtedly one of the most prestigious monuments of the capital of Flanders. Its construction was completed in 1653, by the master mason, Julien Destrée. This one was called “escrignier”, manufacturer of boxes and small furniture. He therefore created a real jewelry box to house the transactions of merchants.

The old stock exchange is located between the Grand’Place and the Place du Théâtre (or Place de l’Opéra), it bears witness to the economic activity of Lille during the Grand Siècle.

The building is in fact a nest of 24 identical residences containing an inner courtyard, where booksellers, florists, chess players and tourists meet.

La vieille bourse in Lille its 24 houses classified as historic monuments
La vieille bourse in Lille its 24 houses classified as historic monuments

Above a ground floor forming a basement, two floors of abundantly decorated pilasters rise.

The decorative repertoire, of a certain opulence, tells the story of the wealth and fortune of the Lille inhabitants: wrapped Turks evoke the counters of the East, Pomones loaded with fruit ensure solid gains, horns of abundance promise happiness.

The lion of Flanders reminds us that Lille, at that time, belonged to the Spanish Netherlands.

This old stock exchange was built on the personal funds of the merchants.

Until now, its 24 houses, classified as historic monuments, had remained in private hands. But the whole thing had suffered from time. An exemplary restoration has restored it to its former glory, thanks to an original sponsorship: large regional companies have joined forces to financially support the operation, as a tribute to the merchants of yesteryear. In exchange, each company was granted the right to affix its coloured logo above the windows on the second floor. These are the coats of arms of today.

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

La vieille bourse

La vieille bourse de Lille

La Vieille Bourse de Lille, est sans nul doute l’un des monuments les plus prestigieux de la capitale des Flandres. Sa construction fut terminée en 1653, par le maître maçon, Julien Destrée. Celui-ci se disait “escrignier”, fabricant d’écrins et de petits meubles. Il réalisa donc une véritable boîte à bijoux pour abriter les transactions des marchands.

La vieille bourse se situe entre la Grand’Place et la Place du Théâtre (ou place de l’Opéra), elle témoigne de l’activité économique de Lille durant le Grand Siècle.

Le bâtiment est en fait un emboîtement de 24 demeures identiques renfermant une Cour intérieure, où se donnent rendez-vous, bouquinistes, fleuristes, joueurs d’échecs et touristes.

La vieille bourse de Lille et ses 24 maisons classées monuments historiques
La vieille bourse de Lille et ses 24 maisons classées monuments historiques

Au dessus d’un rez-de-chaussée formant soubassement, s’élèvent deux étages de pilastres abondamment ornés.

Le répertoire décoratif, d’une opulence certaines, raconte la richesse et la fortune des Lillois : Des turcs enrubannés évoquent les comptoirs d’orient, des Pomone chargées de fruits assurent de gains solides, des cornes d’abondance promettent le bonheur.

Le lion des Flandres rappelle que Lille, à cette époque, appartenait aux Pays-Bas espagnols.

Cette vieille bourse fut édifiée sur les fonds personnels des marchands.

Jusqu’à maintenant, ses 24 maisons, classées monuments historiques, étaient restées en mains privées. Mais l’ensemble avait souffert du temps. Une restauration exemplaire a permis de lui rendre son lustre d’antan, grâce à un mécénat original : de grandes entreprises régionales se sont regroupées pour soutenir financièrement l’opération, comme en hommage aux marchands de jadis. En échange, chaque société a obtenu le droit d’apposer son sigle coloré au-dessus des fenêtres du deuxième étage. Ce sont les armoiries d’aujourd’hui.

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here